Baldwin vs CFC: Representations and Warranties Insurance

The Baldwin Group advises M&A clients and negotiates R&W placements; CFC underwrites transaction-liability cover and offers small-deal Buyer Protect and Seller Protect products for transactions under $20 million.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

Areas of coverage

The Baldwin Group

  • role: The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Representations and Warranties Transaction Advisory. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Baldwin describes its M&A practice as advising financial sponsors and portfolio companies involved in mergers and acquisitions. This scope does not determine transaction eligibility. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Baldwin lists representations and warranties insurance among transactional-risk products its M&A team can negotiate and place. It does not publish policy wording, covered breach, exclusions or limit terms. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Baldwin describes transaction-risk advice, insurance due diligence, policy placement, portfolio programs and claims advocacy for M&A clients. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources.not-disclosedSource ↗

CFC

  • role: CFC's Transaction Liability practice underwrites representations and warranties (R&W) insurance for M&A deals, available to both buyer-side and seller-side purchasers, alongside standalone small-deal products and secondary liquidity solutions. Transaction liability product page overview, describing CFC as a deal facilitator working with private equity firms and strategic buyers and sellers.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Beyond its main R&W policy, CFC sells two standalone small-deal products: Buyer Protect, described as covering a buyer for up to 100% of enterprise value, and Seller Protect, described as protecting sellers of small businesses during an M&A transaction. Both are limited to deals under $20 million. Product page descriptions and the 'Solutions' section, which caps buyer protect/seller protect at deals under $20m. The page's key-features bullets for these two products use near-identical wording about the buyer bringing a claim, so the exact difference in claims mechanics between the two products was not independently confirmable from this page alone.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The core transaction liability policy covers representations and warranties, contingent tax, and other M&A liabilities, and CFC also offers excess coverage layered on top for certain fundamental representations. Product page key features and the 'Limit & appetite' section; exact terms are set by the policy as issued.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: CFC separately offers secondary liquidity solutions for private market investors acquiring, divesting, or restructuring interests in private equity, private credit, or other fund assets, through what it calls a dedicated secondaries underwriting practice. Secondary liquidity solutions section of the product page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: CFC says it underwrites transaction liability business on behalf of Lloyd's of London syndicates and insurance companies rated 'A' or better by AM Best, without naming a specific carrier for any individual deal. Limit & appetite section of the product page; the specific carrier for a given policy would appear on that policy's documents.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: CFC says it can underwrite up to $50 million of limit on a single transaction, or up to $150 million of excess coverage for certain fundamental representations. Limit & appetite section of the product page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: For the Buyer Protect and Seller Protect products, CFC says coverage can be placed within 24 hours of receiving the application form, and can be arranged after closing. Buyer protect and seller protect key features on the product page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: CFC has a dedicated transaction liability claims team in its London and New York offices, says it has handled nearly 300 claims to date, and aims to send an acknowledgement within 24 hours of a claim notification. Claims section of the product page; outcome statistics are company-reported and not independently verified.company-reportedSource ↗

What Are the Key Differences Between The Baldwin Group and CFC Representations and Warranties Insurance?

Standard placement and small-deal options

The Baldwin Group says its M&A team can negotiate and place R&W insurance, support due diligence and advocate on claims, but its reviewed record does not state deal-size thresholds or limits. CFC underwrites transaction-liability products and describes Buyer Protect and Seller Protect for deals under $20 million, alongside its main policy. The small-deal products give buyers and sellers a named route to evaluate; eligibility and exact structure remain quote-specific. [5] [3]

Published capacity and deal liabilities

CFC says its main transaction-liability policy covers R&W, contingent tax and other M&A liabilities, with up to $50 million on one transaction and excess capacity up to $150 million for certain fundamental representations. Baldwin’s public record does not publish comparable numbers. If the deal needs a larger limit or additional transaction risks, put the desired coverage and layering in the submission to either adviser. [5] [3]

What Should You Confirm in The Baldwin Group and CFC Representations and Warranties Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask CFC whether the under-$20-million Buyer Protect or Seller Protect terms fit the purchase agreement. [5] [3]
  • Ask Baldwin what carrier, base limit and excess options can be placed for this transaction. [5] [3]

CFC reports up to $50 million per transaction and dedicated products for deals below $20 million; Baldwin describes deal advice and placement without published limits.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Mergers & Acquisitions

    Beazley · Product overview: buyer and seller protection for inaccuracies in representations or warranties · accessed 2026-09-16

  2. 02
    Regulatory information

    CFC · CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988 · accessed 2026-09-23

  3. 03
    Transaction liability insurance | Representation and indemnities insurance

    CFC · What are representations and warranties?; Who should buy representation and warranty insurance?; Available to buyers & sellers; Limited seller security; Is transaction liability insurance available to sellers · accessed 2026-09-16

  4. 04
    Transactional Risk Insurance

    Coverdash · Transactional risk insurance; representations and warranties coverage; buy-side policies; tax and contingent liability products · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    M&A, Private Equity & VC Risk Management

    The Baldwin Group · Transactional-risk insurance and placement claims lines 72–80; P&C line list lines 101–116; accessed 2026-09-29. · accessed 2026-09-30

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk