Techinsurance vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

TechInsurance arranges E&O as a standalone policy and reports a median $88 a month; THREE by Berkshire Hathaway lists E&O inside its Business Owners Policy, with an online quote and Small Business Advisors to help.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

Areas of coverage

TechInsurance

  • role: TechInsurance arranges errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, as a standalone policy for businesses that provide professional services or advice. Errors and omissions product page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for an E&O policy. Errors and omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23.not-disclosedSource ↗
  • coverage: TechInsurance says E&O insurance covers professional negligence claims, errors or incomplete work, breach of contract, missed deadlines, misrepresentation of skill level, and communication-related disputes, and pays legal defense costs and any resulting judgment or settlement. Errors and omissions product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: TechInsurance says its E&O policies are claims-made, meaning coverage applies only if the policy was active both when the incident occurred and when the claim was filed, and recommends keeping the policy active or setting a retroactive date to cover past work. Errors and omissions product page, Why is it important to keep your E&O insurance policy active? section.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: TechInsurance says its E&O policyholders pay a median of $88 per month, or $1,051 a year, with the exact premium depending on location, profession risk level, coverage limits, deductible, employee count, claims history and annual income. Errors and omissions product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: TechInsurance targets E&O at businesses that provide professional services or advice, naming IT and software professionals, cybersecurity and SaaS companies, insurance agents, real estate agents, tax preparers and consultants as example segments, and notes it is sometimes required by state law or licensing boards. Errors and omissions product page, Who should get errors and omissions insurance coverage? section.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: TechInsurance says that if a client threatens to sue, you contact your carrier directly, provide policy information and explain the circumstances, and the insurer's representative helps determine next steps. Errors and omissions product page, How does E&O insurance coverage work? section.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

What Are the Key Differences Between TechInsurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Claims-Made Policy and Past Work

TechInsurance says its E&O policies are claims-made: the policy must be active when the incident occurs and when the claim is filed, and it recommends maintaining coverage or setting a retroactive date for earlier work. THREE lists E&O as part of its BOP but does not describe a separate trigger on the public product page. A buyer with prior client work should compare the retroactive date and reporting terms in the actual proposals before switching or letting coverage lapse. [6] [1] [3]

Standalone Quote and Package Category

TechInsurance arranges E&O as a standalone policy for businesses that provide services or advice, including software, SaaS, cybersecurity and consulting firms. THREE presents E&O as a category within the Business Owners Policy and offers an online quote with licensed advisor assistance. That gives the buyer a standalone route to assess against a package option, but the E&O limit and deductible still need to be compared in each quote. [6] [1] [2]

What Should You Confirm in TechInsurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask TechInsurance for the retroactive date, current-policy reporting requirement, limit and deductible, since standard figures are not published. [6]
  • Ask THREE to identify E&O in the BOP quote and state its trigger, limit, deductible and covered technology services. [1] [3]
  • Compare how each proposal treats missed deadlines, incomplete work and alleged misrepresentation. [6] [3]

TechInsurance arranges standalone E&O and describes claims-made terms for IT, software, cybersecurity and other professional businesses. THREE lists E&O within its combined BOP, where the quote and issued form determine the line's actual terms.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Errors & Omissions (E&O) Insurance

    TechInsurance · What does errors and omissions insurance cover? (professional negligence, errors or incomplete work, breach of contract, missed deadlines, misrepresentation, communication challenges); How much does E&O insurance cost?; Who should get errors and omissions insurance coverage?; How does E&O insurance coverage work? (claims-made) · accessed 2026-09-23

  7. 07
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk