Simply Business vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

Simply Business compares E&O quotes online, with binding needing panel-member approval; THREE by Berkshire Hathaway lists E&O within its Business Owners Policy, quoted online with Small Business Advisors on hand.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

THREE presents E&O as a component of a combined small-business policy with an online quote route; Simply Business offers online comparison subject to panel approval.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Professional Liability Insurance Coverage

    Simply Business · Coverage lines 45–100; buyer examples lines 101–158; online quote steps lines 237–260. · accessed 2026-09-29

  7. 07
    Terms of Service

    Simply Business · Dated June 30, 2026; §1 lines 22–28; §8 lines 87–113; §10 lines 143–149; §19 line 211. · accessed 2026-09-29

  8. 08
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  9. 09
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

What Are the Key Differences Between Simply Business and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Package component versus marketplace selection

THREE lists Errors & Omissions within its combined Business Owners Policy rather than presenting it as standalone on the reviewed product page. Simply Business describes comparing professional-liability offers through its marketplace. If you want E&O alongside other business coverages, ask THREE what appears in your quote; with Simply Business, ask whether E&O is standalone or packaged in the selected offer. [1] [6]

THREE names an issuer in a sample policy

THREE’s sample policy declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. Simply Business’s general E&O material does not identify the insurer for a particular quote, and binding requires approval from its panel member. Check declarations for the actual policy being offered through either route. [3] [7]

Both publish an online start, with distinct assistance

THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help. Simply Business describes an online question-and-compare flow, but its terms say a quote is not guaranteed. Ask what follow-up is required and whether the quote can be bound for your business. [2] [7]

What Should You Confirm in Simply Business and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask THREE whether E&O is included in the quoted BOP and review the declaration and form; ask Simply Business for the named carrier and binding status. [3] [7]
  • Compare which additional coverages are in THREE’s package against any bundled lines in the Simply Business offer. [1] [6]

Areas of coverage

Simply Business

  • coverage: The page describes protection for claims tied to professional work and lists attorney fees, court costs, settlements and judgments as costs that may be covered; policy wording controls. Company-published professional-errors-omissions information for U.S. small businesses; availability and actual policy terms depend on the insurer, state and buyer.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Simply Business lists consultants, IT professionals, real-estate agents and bookkeepers among the business examples for which it can help find E&O coverage. The examples do not guarantee eligibility. Company-published professional-errors-omissions information for U.S. small businesses; availability and actual policy terms depend on the insurer, state and buyer.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: The company describes an online flow to answer business questions, compare quotes and select a policy. Its Terms say an online quote is not guaranteed and binding requires panel-member approval. Company-published professional-errors-omissions information for U.S. small businesses; availability and actual policy terms depend on the insurer, state and buyer.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk