Next Insurance vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

Wanting E&O on its own points to ERGO NEXT Insurance, which sells a standalone policy online; wanting it inside a package points to THREE by Berkshire Hathaway, which lists E&O within its Business Owners Policy.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between ERGO NEXT Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Standalone Online Purchase and Certificate

ERGO NEXT sells professional liability as a standalone online policy, describing a roughly 10-minute quote, coverage customization and an instantly available certificate. THREE includes E&O among the coverage categories in its BOP and offers an online quote with licensed Small Business Advisors available to assist. If a client contract requires proof quickly, compare the certificate produced by ERGO NEXT with the timing and E&O selection in THREE's package process. [4] [1] [2]

Coverage and Subcontractor Treatment

ERGO NEXT describes coverage for professional errors that cost clients money, negligence, misrepresentation and defense costs; it says employees are covered by default, subcontractors typically are not, and prior-acts coverage may be available in select cases. THREE markets E&O within the BOP but leaves the actual terms to its issued forms. A business using contractors should compare named-insured wording, prior work and exclusions instead of treating the package label as confirmation. [4] [3] [1]

What Should You Confirm in ERGO NEXT Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask ERGO NEXT for the limit, deductible, subcontractor treatment and any retroactive date; its page publishes no standard limit figures. [4]
  • Ask THREE whether E&O is selected and identify its limit, deductible and certificate timing in the package proposal. [1] [2]
  • Compare each form's response to contractor errors, prior work, bodily injury and property damage. [4] [3]

ERGO NEXT describes a roughly 10-minute online E&O quote, customizable coverage and an instantly available certificate. THREE lists E&O in its Business Owners Policy and offers an online quote with licensed advisor support.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Professional Liability Insurance

    ERGO NEXT Insurance · What is Professional Liability insurance? (also called errors & omissions insurance); target industries and professions; exclusions; three-step quote process; bundling discount; claims filing · accessed 2026-09-23

  5. 05
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Areas of coverage

ERGO NEXT Insurance

  • role: ERGO NEXT sells professional liability, which it also calls errors and omissions insurance, as a standalone online policy. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The professional liability page does not name an issuing insurer for this line; the carrier for a specific policy is confirmed on the quote and declarations. Checked the professional liability product page on 2026-09-23.not-foundSource ↗
  • coverage: ERGO NEXT says the policy addresses business errors that cost clients money, claims of professional negligence, misrepresentation causing financial harm, and legal defense costs. Product page coverage description; the issued policy and its exclusions control an actual claim.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: ERGO NEXT lists the policy as excluding intentional wrongdoing and illegal activity, property damage or bodily injury (covered by general liability instead), false advertising, employee work injuries and vehicle accidents. Product page exclusions summary.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: ERGO NEXT targets this line at offices and professionals, construction, food and beverage, and retail and e-commerce businesses, naming business consultants, accountants, financial professionals, engineers and architects as example professions. Product page industry and profession list; not a complete underwriting appetite by state.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: Published coverage limits or deductibles were not found on the professional liability product page; only illustrative starting pricing is shown, and the page notes an up to 10% discount for bundling with an existing ERGO NEXT policy. Checked the professional liability product page on 2026-09-23.not-disclosedSource ↗
  • services: ERGO NEXT says employees are covered under the policy by default, subcontractors typically are not, prior-acts coverage is available in select cases, and additional-insured designations are permitted. Product page policy-structure notes.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: ERGO NEXT describes a roughly 10-minute online quote, coverage customization, and a fully online purchase with an instantly available certificate of insurance. Product page quote-flow description.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk