Mylo vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

Mylo is a broker that compares professional liability quotes from several business insurers for you. THREE by Berkshire Hathaway instead lists Errors and Omissions inside its Business Owners Policy, with an online quote.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

Areas of coverage

Mylo

  • role: Mylo brokers professional liability insurance by comparing quotes from multiple business insurance companies rather than underwriting the policy itself. Professional liability product page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Mylo markets this line to businesses that could face a claim from a client unhappy with their professional services, using examples spanning app development, financial planning and beauty-salon services. Product page examples; a particular business's eligibility depends on underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Mylo describes the policy responding to breach-of-contract claims, bodily injury or property damage claims, financial-loss claims, and consequential-damages claims arising from a client relationship. Product page coverage descriptions; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Mylo explains that professional liability comes in claims-made and occurrence forms, and that tail coverage can be added to a claims-made policy to extend reporting after it ends. Product page FAQ; which form and tail terms are offered depends on the placed carrier.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The professional liability product page and Mylo's carrier-contact directory do not name the insurer that would issue a professional liability policy; the directory groups carriers under generic Auto & Home and Business categories only. Checked the professional liability product page and the carrier-contact directory on 2026-09-23; neither ties a named carrier to this line.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • application: Mylo says it recommends coverage customized to the business and compares professional liability quotes from top-rated business insurance companies to find a combination of coverage and price. Product page "How will Mylo find me the right policy?" section.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: Mylo's carrier-contact page lists claims phone numbers by carrier for Auto & Home and Business policies generally, but does not identify a professional-liability-specific claims contact or process. Carrier-contact directory checked 2026-09-23; entries are organized by carrier and general product category, not by coverage line.not-foundSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

What Are the Key Differences Between Mylo and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Comparing Policy Triggers

Mylo explains that professional liability can be written on claims-made or occurrence forms and that tail coverage can extend reporting after a claims-made policy ends. THREE lists E&O within its Business Owners Policy, but the public BOP material does not state a separate E&O trigger. For a buyer changing insurers or covering older work, that difference makes the retroactive date, reporting window and any extended reporting option central quote questions. [7] [1] [3]

Quote Comparison and Coverage Labels

Mylo says it compares professional-liability quotes from multiple business insurers, while THREE starts with a combined-package quote and advisor support. Mylo describes possible breach-of-contract, financial-loss and consequential-damages claims; THREE's product page markets the E&O category but leaves operative coverage to the issued documents. Buyers should compare the forms and carrier terms on the same client-loss scenarios rather than assume the line names are equivalent. [7] [2] [3]

What Should You Confirm in Mylo and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Mylo which insurers it compared and whether each quote is claims-made or occurrence, including retroactive and tail terms. [7]
  • Ask THREE for the E&O form, trigger, retroactive date, limit and deductible attached to your BOP quote. [1] [3]
  • Compare both proposals against prior client work and claims-reporting deadlines, and identify the carrier claim contact. [7] [3]

Mylo compares E&O quotes across business insurers and explains both claims-made and occurrence forms, including tail coverage after a claims-made policy ends. THREE lists E&O within its combined BOP, with policy-specific terms in the quote and issued forms.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Contact Your Carrier

    Mylo · Carrier contact list grouped by Auto & Home, Business and Claims; no professional-liability-specific entry · accessed 2026-09-23

  7. 07
    Professional Liability Insurance

    Mylo · Professional Liability? But I Do Good Work; What does professional liability cover?; Professional liability FAQs (claims-made vs. occurrence, tail coverage); How will Mylo find me the right policy? · accessed 2026-09-23

  8. 08
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  9. 09
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk