Markel vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway lists Errors and Omissions within its Business Owners Policy and quotes online. Markel Insurance offers miscellaneous E&O up to $2 million and invites you or your broker to contact its underwriters.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Markel Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Standalone E&O and Package Structure

Markel describes miscellaneous E&O as a distinct product for professional-services claims and separates it from management liability. THREE presents Errors & Omissions as a category in its combined Business Owners Policy rather than as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed page. That structure matters if you want E&O on its own or alongside other small-business lines: ask THREE whether E&O appears in your quote and request the policy documents. [6] [1]

Stated Limit and Policy Evidence

Markel's product page states a maximum of $2 million for miscellaneous E&O, subject to applicant and policy terms. THREE's sample policy identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer, but its product page does not state a separate E&O limit or deductible; it points buyers to the quote-specific insurance summary. Request that summary and compare the actual E&O limit with Markel's stated maximum. [6] [3] [1]

How the Quote Starts

Markel invites prospective customers or brokers to contact its underwriting team; THREE directs prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help. The channels give a buyer different starting points, but neither claim establishes an E&O bind timeline. Ask what business details are needed and whether the package quote can be adjusted to match Markel's standalone limit. [6] [2]

What Should You Confirm in Markel Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Markel for the offered limit, retention, and whether your professional service qualifies under the miscellaneous E&O class. [6]

  • Ask THREE to identify the professional liability form, limit, and any sublimit inside the combined policy, and whether it is included in your quoted package. [1]

Markel describes a separate miscellaneous E&O product for targeted small businesses up to $5 million in revenue, with up to $2 million in coverage. THREE presents professional liability as one of the coverage categories in its combined small-business policy.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    ProBiz | Professional Liability Coverage

    Markel · Miscellaneous E&O; types of covered professional-service errors; ProBiz target classes and process. · accessed 2026-09-30

  7. 07
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Areas of coverage

Markel Insurance

  • role: Markel describes offering professional errors omissions for the audience stated on the cited product page. professional errors omissions marketed by markel; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Small businesses in ProBiz's targeted industries; source describes businesses up to $5 million revenue for the miscellaneous E&O product. professional errors omissions marketed by markel; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The cited product page describes miscellaneous E&O for covered claims arising from professional services, with the page describing separate E&O and management-liability products. Marketing description only; actual coverage, exclusions, conditions, limits, and availability depend on the issued policy and jurisdiction. professional errors omissions marketed by markel; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: The page invites prospective customers or brokers to contact Markel or the named underwriting team. The page does not establish a quote, bind, or coverage-effective timeline. professional errors omissions marketed by markel; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: For its miscellaneous E&O product, Markel states coverage up to $2 million; this is a product-page maximum, not a promise that every applicant or quote receives that amount. Markel ProBiz miscellaneous E&O marketing page; class, underwriting, policy terms, and actual quoted limit control.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk