Liberty Mutual vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

A small business buying a Business Owners Policy with an online quote and advisor help would look at THREE by Berkshire Hathaway, which folds in Errors and Omissions. Liberty Mutual's listing is a physicians program, professional liability only.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-10-01

What Are the Key Differences Between Liberty Mutual and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

E&O within a package versus a named specialty line

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway lists Errors & Omissions among coverage categories in its combined Business Owners Policy. Its product description does not mean E&O will appear in every applicant’s quote. Liberty Mutual’s directory separately names Physicians & Surgeons Professional and marks it “PL Only.” A small business considering THREE by Berkshire Hathaway should verify the E&O line is scheduled for its risk; a physician should ask the Liberty Mutual administrator for the program’s offered form. [1] [6]

Quote steps and actual line inclusion

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with that overall process. Liberty Mutual supplies administrator contacts for its physician program. Neither route alone confirms E&O inclusion or eligibility: the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway schedule must show the selected line, while Liberty Mutual’s administrator must identify whether the practice is considered. Compare the policy-specific limits and issuer only after those details appear in the proposals. [2] [6]

What Should You Confirm in Liberty Mutual and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask THREE by Berkshire Hathaway whether E&O is included for your business in the quote, and verify its limit on the insurance summary. [1]
  • Ask Liberty Mutual’s administrator whether your physician specialty is considered and request the proposed form and limits. [6]

Areas of coverage

Liberty Mutual

  • role: Liberty Mutual lists a Physicians & Surgeons Professional program, marked “PL Only,” in its specialty-program portfolio. Official Liberty Mutual commercial/product page; company-reported description scoped to Physicians & Surgeons Professional program. Not policy wording, underwriting approval, state eligibility or a coverage guarantee.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Liberty Mutual says its programs are managed by program administrators; the page provides program inquiry contact details. Official Liberty Mutual commercial/product page; company-reported description scoped to Physicians & Surgeons Professional program. Not policy wording, underwriting approval, state eligibility or a coverage guarantee.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The listing identifies professional liability only; it does not establish form terms, limits, exclusions or insurer for a quote. Official Liberty Mutual commercial/product page; company-reported description scoped to Physicians & Surgeons Professional program. Not policy wording, underwriting approval, state eligibility or a coverage guarantee.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: The cited product page does not establish an online application or policy-binding path; ask the listed team or your broker/agent how this product is placed. Reviewed product-page scope only. This not-found disposition is not a claim that no digital route exists.not-foundSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway lists E&O among coverage categories in its combined BOP but does not guarantee it appears in a specific quote; Liberty Mutual lists a physician PL-only program.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Programs

    Liberty Mutual Business Insurance · ‘Our programs portfolio’ lists Auto Salvage/Dismantlers, Fire Suppression and Sprinkler Contractors, Nonprofits, Physicians & Surgeons Professional (PL only), Post-surgical for bariatric and plastic surgeries, Roofing Contractors, Scrap Metal Dealers, Self-storage, and Sports and Fitness. Page says programs are managed by program administrators; not a complete business catalogue. · accessed 2026-09-29

  7. 07
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk