Hiscox vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway presents E&O as a component of its Business Owners Policy, quoted online with advisors helping. Hiscox sells professional liability directly online to small businesses.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

Hiscox offers standalone professional liability online and names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. as underwriter for admitted Hiscox NOW policies. THREE lists E&O as a BOP category and uses an online quote with advisor assistance.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    About Hiscox US Insurance

    Hiscox · Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide

    Hiscox · Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; technology classes including IT consultants and software development · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses

    Hiscox · Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    What is Professional Liability Insurance?

    Hiscox · Claims-made description; current-customer claim number described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  9. 09
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  10. 10
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  11. 11
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

What Are the Key Differences Between Hiscox and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Standalone Online Policy and Named Carrier

Hiscox sells professional liability directly online as a standalone small-business policy and names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. as underwriter for admitted Hiscox NOW policies. THREE presents E&O as a category in its combined BOP, and its linked sample declarations name Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. The buyer can identify the named carrier for either route, but should match the declarations to the exact product and state offered. [4] [6] [3] [1]

Claims Reporting and Policy Trigger

Hiscox describes its E&O as claims-made and tells current customers its professional-liability claims line is open around the clock. THREE's public materials describe a BOP category and quote route but do not explain a separate E&O trigger or dedicated claims line in this offering record. Buyers with prior work should compare reporting dates and call routes on the proposed documents, not assume the BOP label supplies the same detail. [7] [1] [3]

What Should You Confirm in Hiscox and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Confirm the proposed Hiscox policy is admitted in your state and has the expected limit and deductible; the public page does not publish standard amounts. [5] [6]
  • Ask THREE to confirm E&O is included and provide its trigger, limit, deductible and claims contact on the issued documents. [1] [3]
  • Compare Hiscox's claims-made reporting condition and 24/7 phone route with the reporting deadline and contact on THREE's proposed form. [7] [3]

Areas of coverage

Hiscox

  • role: Hiscox Inc., a licensed insurance intermediary, sells professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage directly online to small businesses as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted small-business catalogue. Company-stated online small-business channel.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that if it does not sell the product online in a buyer's state, a specialist broker may be able to help instead. Company-stated jurisdiction for the online small-business catalogue; the appetite guide's technology classes (IT consultants, software development) illustrate typical buyers but do not guarantee acceptance for any one applicant.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • coverage: Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy, meaning a claim is covered only if it is made (and typically reported) while the policy is active, rather than an occurrence policy covering incidents regardless of when the claim surfaces. Product FAQ description; exact triggers, retroactive dates, exclusions and wording are set by the issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The professional-liability pages reviewed do not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; specific figures are shown only on a quote. Public product and FAQ pages as previously reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • application: Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours for questions during the process. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: A professional-liability FAQ tells current customers that the claims phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, separate from the general claims-center hours listed elsewhere on the Hiscox site. Company-described claims-reporting availability for this product's FAQ; does not establish claim outcomes or turnaround time.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk