Harper vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway presents E&O as a component of its Business Owners Policy, with an online quote. Harper, a broker, places a policy written around your actual services, for consultants, agencies and tech firms.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Harper and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Contract Review and Package Placement

Harper describes a broker placement built around the applicant's actual services and says it reads exclusions line by line before purchase. It also says it matches limits to client contracts that require E&O. THREE lists E&O as one of the categories within its combined Business Owners Policy, without publishing separate E&O eligibility rules. For a contract-driven purchase, ask Harper to map the requirement to the proposed wording; ask THREE to show the relevant coverage and limit in the package quote. [5] [5] [1] [1]

Certificate Timing and Quote Terms

Harper says it can issue the certificate the same day when a client contract requires E&O. THREE describes an online quote with help from licensed Small Business Advisors, but its public materials put the separate E&O limit and deductible in the quote summary. Compare certificate timing and required wording, not only the application route. [5] [2] [3]

What Should You Confirm in Harper and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Give Harper the contract clause and ask it to identify the matching limit, exclusions and certificate timing in writing. [5] [5] [5]
  • Ask THREE to confirm E&O is included for your business and show the limit, deductible and relevant endorsements in the quote summary. [1] [1] [3]
  • Request the issuing carrier from both; Harper says the reviewed pages do not name its carrier, while THREE's sample declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company. [5] [3]

Areas of coverage

Harper

  • role: Harper places professional liability coverage as a broker, writing the policy around the applicant's actual services rather than underwriting it, and describes a specialist handling the placement. Professional liability page introduction and 'Why Harper' section.company-reportedSource ↗
  • role: Harper markets the identical policy under two catalogue entries, "Professional Liability" and "Errors and Omissions"; the E&O page states it is the same policy, just named what a given industry calls it. Coverage directory listing plus the E&O page's own description; a naming convention Harper states about itself, not a distinction between two products.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: Harper targets consultants, agencies, tech firms and licensed professionals whose work product is advice, design or a decision, since general liability doesn't cover a client claiming that work caused a financial loss. Professional liability page introduction and FAQ distinguishing it from general liability.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Harper describes coverage for errors and omissions in the work itself, negligence allegations about professional judgment, and legal defense costs, with limits it says are matched to the client contracts that require the policy. Professional liability page's four coverage tiles; the E&O page adds that claims often surface a year or more after the work was delivered. The issued policy and its exclusions control actual scope.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • services: Harper says it reads a policy's exclusions line by line before a client buys, because two E&O policies with the same limit can respond very differently to the same claim. Professional liability page 'We know this' section; a described review practice, not an independently verified outcome.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: You request a quote online or by phone; if a client contract requires E&O, Harper says it places coverage matching that requirement and issues the certificate the same day. Professional liability page quote form and FAQ 'My client contract requires E&O. What now?'.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed pages name pricing drivers (services performed, revenue, contract size) but do not name the issuing insurer or publish specific limit, retention or premium figures for this line. Checked both the professional-liability and errors-and-omissions pages on 2026-09-23; neither names a carrier or a limit figure.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Harper says it reviews exclusions and matches E&O limits to client-contract requirements, then can issue a certificate the same day. THREE lists E&O within its combined BOP but leaves the line limit and deductible to the quote summary.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Harper · Page states the product is 'Same policy as professional liability, just what your industry calls it'; describes financial-loss claims from professional services and late-arriving claims · accessed 2026-09-23

  5. 05
    Professional Liability Insurance

    Harper · Know your coverage: What is Professional Liability insurance?; Errors & omissions, Negligence allegations, Legal defense, Contract-driven limits; Why Harper; FAQs on general liability vs. E&O, client E&O requirements, and pricing drivers · accessed 2026-09-23

  6. 06
    What We Cover

    Harper · Coverage directory list including Errors and Omissions and Professional Liability as separate catalogue entries · accessed 2026-09-23

  7. 07
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  9. 09
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  10. 10
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk