Counterpart vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway presents Errors and Omissions inside its Business Owners Policy and offers an online quote with advisor help. Counterpart distributes separate professional-liability programs through wholesale brokers.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-10-01

Areas of coverage

Counterpart

  • role: Counterpart describes its product distribution through Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc. and wholesale brokers. The cited marketing pages do not identify the insurer for a particular professional-liability risk or state.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: Counterpart lists distinct professional-liability programs for miscellaneous professionals, architects/engineers/contractors, allied healthcare and lawyers. Each page has its own occupation scope; no single eligibility rule applies across all four products.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗Source ↗Source ↗
  • coverage: The Lawyers Professional Liability page describes claims arising from lawyers’ professional services; the MPL page gives service-related negligence and financial-loss examples. These are distinct program summaries and do not establish identical policy triggers or coverages.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • limits: Counterpart says its professional pages support modular limits and presents sample limits and retentions for selected professions. Published examples are illustrative, not terms available to a particular applicant.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

What Are the Key Differences Between Counterpart and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Package Category and Standalone Programs

THREE presents Errors & Omissions among coverages in its combined Business Owners Policy. Its page does not establish whether that category appears in every buyer’s quote. Counterpart instead lists separate programs for miscellaneous, A&E/contractor, allied-health and lawyer risks. A business comparing a package with a profession-specific program should first verify that E&O is included for the exact services. [9] [6] [5] [8] [1]

Limits and Issuing Details

THREE says its quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. Counterpart publishes sample terms for selected professions, not the buyer’s final schedule. Obtain each quote and declarations; the reviewed sample policy identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company for that sample only, not every THREE proposal. [8] [1] [3]

What Should You Confirm in Counterpart and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • THREE: verify E&O appears in the quote, its line-specific limit and deductible, and the insurer on your declarations. Counterpart: confirm the class-specific form and actual limits and retentions. [9] [8] [1] [3]

THREE markets E&O within its combined BOP but does not establish inclusion in every quote; Counterpart lists separate profession programs with illustrative terms.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    How can I get insurance through Counterpart?

    Counterpart Knowledge Center · Retained source: article describes wholesale-broker referral route; prior access 2026-09-28. · accessed 2026-09-28

  5. 05
    Allied Medical & Healthcare Liability

    Counterpart, Inc. · Retained provider source: names allied healthcare classes, combined coverage/enhancements and illustrative limits/examples; does not establish conventional malpractice for every medical profession or standalone general liability. Prior access 2026-09-28; direct reopen failed in this session. · accessed 2026-09-28

  6. 06
    Architects, Engineers, & Contractors Liability

    Counterpart, Inc. · Retained provider source: A&E/contractor class examples, services, enhancements and illustrative limits; prior access 2026-09-28. · accessed 2026-09-28

  7. 07
    Counterpart | Agentic Insurance™

    Counterpart, Inc. · Retained provider source: footer states insurance products are offered by Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc., described as a licensed producer and surplus-lines broker; product/state availability varies, issuer not mapped by product/state. Prior access 2026-09-29. · accessed 2026-09-29

  8. 08
    Lawyers Professional Liability Insurance

    Counterpart, Inc. · Reopened 2026-09-30: page lines 4–8 names lawyer-focused product; lines 236–272 company-stated geographic reach, modular liability limit examples, professional services, technology/media extensions and GL alongside professional cover. Product terms remain policy-specific. · accessed 2026-09-30

  9. 09
    Professional & General Liability

    Counterpart, Inc. · Reopened 2026-09-30: page lines 4–8 says MPL may be purchased alone or packaged with GL; lines 208–245 describe industries and coverage examples; lines 251–283 describe risk assessment, quoting channels and underwriter access. Marketing page, not binding terms. · accessed 2026-09-30

  10. 10
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  11. 11
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  12. 12
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  13. 13
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk