Coterie vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway presents Errors and Omissions inside its Business Owners Policy and directs small businesses to an online quote. Coterie Insurance writes a miscellaneous professional liability policy, sold through agents and brokers.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

Areas of coverage

Coterie Insurance

  • role: Coterie writes Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) as a claims-made policy sold through agents and brokers to protect a small-business client against third-party claims for errors or omissions in their professional services. MPL brochure policy-overview paragraph.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The MPL brochure names the policy form 'Coterie Professional Liability Errors and Omissions Insurance Declarations' (form code CTPL CWW PL) but does not name the issuing insurer; that appears only on the policy declarations. MPL brochure 'Mandatory Countrywide PL Policy Forms' table.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Coterie lists dozens of eligible professions for MPL, including accounting services, architects and engineers, bookkeeping, human resources consulting, interior design, property management, real estate agents/brokers, and technology services/IT consulting, each with profession-specific exclusions in some cases (for example, barbers/beauticians exclude services like electrolysis and tattoo services). MPL brochure 'Eligible Professions' and 'Eligible Professions (Continued)' lists.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Coterie says MPL is available in most states but is currently unavailable in DC, IL, MA, MT, ND, and VA. MPL brochure 'MPL unavailable' note.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Coterie's MPL policy covers economic or financial (non-physical) damages arising from wrongful acts in professional services, such as faulty reports or verbal advice that cause a client financial loss; it is written on a claims-made basis covering incidents reported during the policy period or an extended reporting period, occurring after the policy's retroactive date. MPL brochure policy overview and 'Professional Liability Limits of Insurance' definitions.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Coterie's MPL base form excludes bodily injury or property damage claims, fraud or intentional wrongful acts, wrongful termination or discrimination claims, and claims based on contractual liability assumed beyond what would exist without the contract, among other listed exclusions. MPL brochure 'Professional Liability Policy Base Form Exclusions' list.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: Coterie offers MPL each-claim limits of $25,000, $50,000, $250,000, $500,000, or $1,000,000, with the aggregate set at two times the each-claim limit (three times for the $1,000,000 option); the basic policy includes a 60-day extended reporting period, with optional purchased extensions of 1 to 6 years, and up to 6 years of prior-acts (retroactive) coverage. MPL brochure 'Available Limits' table and 'Extended Reporting Period'/'Retroactive Date' definitions.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: MPL is distributed only through agents and brokers using Coterie's quoting platform; the reviewed brochure does not describe a direct-to-business application path. MPL brochure framing as 'for Agents and Brokers'.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

What Are the Key Differences Between Coterie Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Published Limits and Eligibility Detail

Coterie's MPL brochure lists per-claim choices from $25,000 to $1 million, with aggregates set at two times the selected amount or three times for the $1 million option. It also names dozens of eligible professions, with some profession-specific exclusions. THREE's public BOP page lists E&O but gives neither separate eligibility rules nor separate E&O limits; the quote summary is where its limit and deductible appear. Coterie publishes more selection detail; THREE buyers need a tailored quote. [5] [5] [3] [1]

Claims-Made Timing or Package Placement

Coterie states that MPL is claims-made: the claim must be reported during the policy period or an extended reporting period and arise after the retroactive date. THREE lists E&O in a BOP, but its cited public product description does not explain the E&O trigger. Compare the retroactive date and reporting window in each offer. [5] [3] [1]

What Should You Confirm in Coterie Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Coterie which profession class and exclusions apply, and confirm the retroactive date and any extended reporting period selected. [5] [5]
  • Ask THREE to provide the E&O limit, deductible, eligibility basis and claims trigger on the issued form; the BOP page does not state these separately. [3] [1]
  • Ask who places each policy and which insurer appears on the declarations. [5] [5] [3]

Coterie's broker-sold, claims-made MPL names eligible professions and per-claim limits from $25,000 to $1 million. THREE lists E&O inside its combined BOP but leaves the separate E&O limit and deductible to the quote summary.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Coterie Insurance small business products overview

    Coterie Insurance · Product line overview page listing Professional Liability among Coterie's coverages · accessed 2026-09-23

  5. 05
    Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) Policy Overview & Product Highlights for Agents and Brokers

    Coterie Insurance · Policy overview paragraph; Eligible Professions list; 'Currently unavailable in: DC, IL, MA, MT, ND, and VA'; Professional Liability Limits of Insurance table; Claims-Made Policy Form / Retroactive Date / Extended Reporting Period definitions; Mandatory Countrywide PL Policy Forms; Base Form Exclusions · accessed 2026-09-23

  6. 06
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  9. 09
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk