Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway lists E&O inside a combined Business Owners Policy with an online quote and licensed advisers. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance has a dedicated Professional First portfolio, including a lawyers line.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-10-01

What Are the Key Differences Between Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Standalone product catalogue and package placement

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance’s Professional First overview lists Lawyers Professional Liability and Miscellaneous Professional Liability alongside Technology E&O and Media Liability. THREE presents Errors & Omissions as part of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. A buyer who needs to meet a contract requiring a particular E&O limit should check whether THREE includes the category in the quote and whether its terms satisfy the requirement; BHSI buyers should select the specific professional product. [6] [1]

Confirming what the quote actually includes

THREE lists E&O among marketed coverage categories and directs small businesses to an online quote with advisor help. Its product-page category alone does not establish that E&O appears in every package or how a claim responds. BHSI’s portfolio also requires matching your profession to the relevant form. Compare each proposal’s declarations and wording, rather than inferring coverage from the product catalogue. [1] [2] [6]

What Should You Confirm in Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask THREE whether E&O is included in your package, its limit and applicable exclusions. [1]
  • Ask BHSI which Professional First form matches your occupation. [6]
  • Identify the issuing insurer on each proposal and review the declarations. [3]

Areas of coverage

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

  • coverage: BHSI’s U.S. Professional First overview identifies Lawyers Professional Liability and Miscellaneous Professional Liability alongside Technology E&O and Media Liability. Portfolio catalogue statement; the specific legal/professional class and form must be selected rather than treating the offerings as one policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The overview names staffing firms, management consultants, marketing firms and real-estate firms as targeted customers for Miscellaneous Professional Liability; it separately lists law-firm size bands for Lawyers Professional Liability. U.S. Professional First target statements; class-specific eligibility only.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: For architects, engineers and consultants, BHSI describes a professional-liability form that also addresses pollution, media, technology and cyber/network-security exposures. This is a specialized design-industry combined form, not generic E&O wording or proof that all risks receive each component.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: The Professional First overview describes its in-house claims handling group as experienced in complex, high-value claims and integrated with underwriting. Company-reported portfolio-level claim-service description, not independently measured claims performance.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance catalogs distinct professional liability products, while THREE lists E&O inside a combined Business Owners Policy rather than as a standalone offering.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    Professional First Architects, Engineers and Consultants Professional Liability

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance · Product Highlights: professional/pollution liability; media, technology and cyber/network security/privacy liability; direct breach/extortion expenses; risk services; primary/excess and project-specific product availability; target professions, lines 6–29. Its combined-form technology feature is not itself a standalone Tech E&O statement. · accessed 2026-09-28

  5. 05
    Professional First Professional Liability

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance · U.S. Professional Liability landing page links Professional Liability / Network Security & Privacy, stand-alone Network Security & Privacy, and Architects, Engineers and Consultants PL, lines 6–15; footer copyright © 2026. · accessed 2026-09-28

  6. 06
    Professional First Professional Liability Overview

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance · PDF pp.1–2: claims group and reporting; primary blended E&O/Cyber and stand-alone Cyber forms; line capacity statement; named Lawyers PL, Technology E&O, Miscellaneous PL, Media Liability, Network Security & Privacy; named technology-services target types and selection categories; dated 2026-06-03-A. Group capacity not a line policy limit. Source version: 2026-06-03-A. · accessed 2026-09-28

  7. 07
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  9. 09
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  10. 10
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk