Beazley vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway lists E&O as one component of its Business Owners Policy, quoted online with advisers on hand. Beazley likewise packages E&O, but with media and cyber in MediaTech.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

Beazley's MediaTech form covers defined technology and professional services on a claims-made basis with a shared aggregate unless declarations separate limits. THREE lists E&O in its package.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Beazley Digital Media Tech Application

    Beazley · F00859, 042022 edition, Beazley Insurance Company, Inc.; page 1 claims-made-and-reported notice and General Information; page 1-2 Revenue Information · accessed 2026-09-23

  2. 02
    Beazley MediaTech Sample Policy

    Beazley · F00731, 022019 edition; Media, Tech, Data & Network Liability insuring agreement; Definitions: Tech & Professional Services Wrongful Act, Professional Services; Limit of Liability and Coverage; Optional Extension Period · accessed 2026-09-23

  3. 03
    MediaTech for Small Businesses

    Beazley · Opening product description; What we offer: E&O (Tech and Professional), Media, Cyber coverage includes; SME placement paragraph; claims team paragraph · accessed 2026-09-23

  4. 04
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  5. 05
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  6. 06
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  7. 07
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  9. 09
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  10. 10
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

What Are the Key Differences Between Beazley and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

MediaTech Bundle or Package Category

Beazley sells professional E&O inside MediaTech, which also includes technology E&O, media liability and cyber coverage; it does not describe the line as standalone for this segment. THREE lists Errors and Omissions within its combined Business Owners Policy. A buyer should compare the other MediaTech lines and shared terms with the coverages THREE actually includes in its package. [3] [4]

Professional Services and Carveouts

Beazley's sample form covers negligent acts, errors, omissions, misstatements or unintentional contract breaches in professional services performed for a fee. The definition excludes several licensed professions, including accountants, architects, healthcare providers, lawyers and insurance or real-estate agents. THREE lists E&O but its reviewed material does not define covered services. Check each profession and actual service against the form before purchase. [2] [4]

Claims-Made Trigger and Shared Aggregate

Beazley's form is claims-made and reported; defense costs reduce available limits, and E&O generally shares the policy aggregate with media and cyber unless declarations state a separate amount. A paid tail can extend the reporting period after cancellation or non-renewal. THREE's listing gives no comparable trigger or limit allocation. Ask THREE for its reporting trigger, defense-cost treatment and whether E&O shares a package aggregate. [2] [4]

What Should You Confirm in Beazley and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Beazley for the declarations and any separate E&O aggregate, tail option, retroactive date and defense-cost treatment; request THREE's corresponding form terms. [2] [4]
  • Confirm the covered professional services, excluded licensed occupations, issuing insurer and claims-reporting deadline. [1] [6]

Areas of coverage

Beazley

  • role: Beazley sells professional errors and omissions coverage bundled inside MediaTech, a single small-business form that also includes technology E&O, media liability and cyber coverage. It is not sold as a standalone professional-liability policy for this segment. US small-business MediaTech product page; does not address any larger-account professional liability program Beazley may write separately.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: Beazley's posted Digital MediaTech Application names Beazley Insurance Company, Inc. as the insurer on its cover page. The actual issuing entity for a given policy is confirmed on the quote and declarations, not the blank application. Application form F00859, 042022 edition; not a regulator record and not evidence of the entity for every state or route.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The sample MediaTech form covers a Tech & Professional Services Wrongful Act: a negligent act, error, omission, misstatement or unintentional breach of contract in rendering Professional Services, defined as services performed for others for a fee. Sample policy form F00731, 022019 edition, insuring agreements and definitions; the issued policy's wording and any endorsements control.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The sample form's definition of Professional Services excludes services performed as an accountant, architect, surveyor, health care provider, lawyer, insurance or real estate agent or broker, or civil or structural engineer, so those licensed professions are not covered by this professional E&O trigger. Sample policy form F00731, 022019 edition, Professional Services definition; a business in one of these excluded professions would need different coverage even if it buys MediaTech.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: Coverage is claims-made and reported: it responds only to claims first made and reported during the policy period (or a purchased Optional Extension Period), and defense costs reduce the available limit. A buyer can purchase an Optional Extension Period (a tail) for additional premium after non-renewal or cancellation. Sample policy form F00731; application form repeats the same notice; specific tail pricing and duration are set in the declarations, not disclosed publicly.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • limits: Unless the declarations list a separate amount, each insuring agreement in the sample form (including the professional-liability trigger) shares the same Policy Aggregate Limit of Liability with the policy's media and cyber coverages rather than carrying its own dedicated limit. Sample policy form F00731, 022019 edition, Limit of Liability and Coverage section; actual sublimits depend on what is purchased and shown on the declarations.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: Beazley's MediaTech application asks applicants to describe the professional and technology services they perform, disclose employee count and multi-year US and non-US revenue, and state whether written client contracts include scope-of-work, damages-cap and consequential-damages-disclaimer provisions. Application form F00859, 042022 edition, General Information, Revenue Information and Contractual Controls sections; a completed application does not establish acceptance.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: Beazley says its cyber and tech claims team, including experienced litigators, has handled thousands of E&O claims, which it describes as including implementation errors alongside software failures and IP disputes. MediaTech product page claims paragraph; outcome and volume figures are Beazley's own description and not independently verified.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk