Aon vs Hiscox: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

Hiscox sells E&O online straight to small businesses in 49 states and DC, excluding Alaska; Aon brokers and advises for law, accounting and consulting firms and does not issue the underlying policy.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Aon and Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Coverage and Policy Design

Aon says its professional-services practice tailors professional-liability structures for law, accounting and consulting firms, without naming a form or policy issuer. Hiscox sells professional liability directly online to small businesses through Hiscox NOW and identifies Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. as the underwriter of admitted policies. Hiscox says the product is licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska. Buyers can check a named admitted route against an Aon brokered placement. [1] [5]

Buying Route and Terms

Hiscox defines the policy as claims-made: the claim generally must be made and reported while the policy is active. It offers online quote and purchase for eligible buyers, with licensed advisors by phone and a 24/7 professional-liability claims line for customers. Aon’s overview does not publish comparable reporting terms or service hours. Confirm the state route, retroactive date, limits and reporting conditions in the Hiscox quote, then compare those with Aon’s proposed form. [1] [5]

What Should You Confirm in Aon and Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Hiscox to confirm state availability, retroactive date and how late-reported claims are treated. [1] [5]
  • Ask Aon for the carrier, claims-made reporting terms and claims contact for its placement. [1] [5]

Areas of coverage

Aon

  • role: Aon presents Professional Liability / E&O as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Aon describes professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.not-foundSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

Hiscox

  • role: Hiscox Inc., a licensed insurance intermediary, sells professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage directly online to small businesses as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted small-business catalogue. Company-stated online small-business channel.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that if it does not sell the product online in a buyer's state, a specialist broker may be able to help instead. Company-stated jurisdiction for the online small-business catalogue; the appetite guide's technology classes (IT consultants, software development) illustrate typical buyers but do not guarantee acceptance for any one applicant.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • coverage: Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy, meaning a claim is covered only if it is made (and typically reported) while the policy is active, rather than an occurrence policy covering incidents regardless of when the claim surfaces. Product FAQ description; exact triggers, retroactive dates, exclusions and wording are set by the issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The professional-liability pages reviewed do not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; specific figures are shown only on a quote. Public product and FAQ pages as previously reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • application: Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours for questions during the process. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: A professional-liability FAQ tells current customers that the claims phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, separate from the general claims-center hours listed elsewhere on the Hiscox site. Company-described claims-reporting availability for this product's FAQ; does not establish claim outcomes or turnaround time.company-reportedSource ↗

Aon describes tailored professional-liability placement. Hiscox NOW offers eligible small businesses online quoting and purchase for admitted claims-made coverage underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Professional Services Practice

    Aon · Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    About Hiscox US Insurance

    Hiscox · Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent · accessed 2026-09-16

  3. 03
    Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide

    Hiscox · Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; technology classes including IT consultants and software development · accessed 2026-09-16

  4. 04
    Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses

    Hiscox · Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    What is Professional Liability Insurance?

    Hiscox · Claims-made description; current-customer claim number described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  9. 09
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk