Aon vs Coterie: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

Coterie Insurance writes small-business MPL, sold through agents and brokers, with limits from $25,000 to $1,000,000; Aon offers brokerage and risk advice aimed at law, accounting and consulting firms.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

Areas of coverage

Aon

  • role: Aon presents Professional Liability / E&O as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Aon describes professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.not-foundSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

Coterie Insurance

  • role: Coterie writes Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) as a claims-made policy sold through agents and brokers to protect a small-business client against third-party claims for errors or omissions in their professional services. MPL brochure policy-overview paragraph.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The MPL brochure names the policy form 'Coterie Professional Liability Errors and Omissions Insurance Declarations' (form code CTPL CWW PL) but does not name the issuing insurer; that appears only on the policy declarations. MPL brochure 'Mandatory Countrywide PL Policy Forms' table.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Coterie lists dozens of eligible professions for MPL, including accounting services, architects and engineers, bookkeeping, human resources consulting, interior design, property management, real estate agents/brokers, and technology services/IT consulting, each with profession-specific exclusions in some cases (for example, barbers/beauticians exclude services like electrolysis and tattoo services). MPL brochure 'Eligible Professions' and 'Eligible Professions (Continued)' lists.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Coterie says MPL is available in most states but is currently unavailable in DC, IL, MA, MT, ND, and VA. MPL brochure 'MPL unavailable' note.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Coterie's MPL policy covers economic or financial (non-physical) damages arising from wrongful acts in professional services, such as faulty reports or verbal advice that cause a client financial loss; it is written on a claims-made basis covering incidents reported during the policy period or an extended reporting period, occurring after the policy's retroactive date. MPL brochure policy overview and 'Professional Liability Limits of Insurance' definitions.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Coterie's MPL base form excludes bodily injury or property damage claims, fraud or intentional wrongful acts, wrongful termination or discrimination claims, and claims based on contractual liability assumed beyond what would exist without the contract, among other listed exclusions. MPL brochure 'Professional Liability Policy Base Form Exclusions' list.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: Coterie offers MPL each-claim limits of $25,000, $50,000, $250,000, $500,000, or $1,000,000, with the aggregate set at two times the each-claim limit (three times for the $1,000,000 option); the basic policy includes a 60-day extended reporting period, with optional purchased extensions of 1 to 6 years, and up to 6 years of prior-acts (retroactive) coverage. MPL brochure 'Available Limits' table and 'Extended Reporting Period'/'Retroactive Date' definitions.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: MPL is distributed only through agents and brokers using Coterie's quoting platform; the reviewed brochure does not describe a direct-to-business application path. MPL brochure framing as 'for Agents and Brokers'.company-reportedSource ↗

What Are the Key Differences Between Aon and Coterie Insurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Form and Coverage Scope

Aon says it tailors professional-liability structures to a firm’s needs but does not publish a limit schedule or claims trigger. Coterie’s small-business MPL covers economic or financial damages from wrongful professional acts, such as faulty reports or advice, and applies on a claims-made basis after the retroactive date. Its basic policy includes a 60-day extended reporting period, with optional longer extensions. Buyers can compare those timing terms directly with the wording Aon proposes. [1] [3]

Buyer Fit and Policy Terms

Coterie offers per-claim limits from $25,000 to $1 million; the aggregate is generally twice the per-claim limit, or three times at the $1 million option. It lists availability in most states but excludes DC, IL, MA, MT, ND and VA. Aon does not publish comparable limits or geography on its overview. Coterie also excludes bodily injury and property damage, among other items. Confirm profession-specific exclusions and state eligibility. [1] [3]

What Should You Confirm in Aon and Coterie Insurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Coterie which limit option, aggregate multiplier and retroactive date apply to your quote. [1] [3]
  • Ask Aon for state eligibility, claims-made reporting terms and a comparable limit schedule. [1] [3]

Aon describes tailored professional-liability structures without public terms. Coterie’s MPL covers financial loss from wrongful professional acts on a claims-made basis, with limits from $25,000 to $1 million.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Professional Services Practice

    Aon · Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Coterie Insurance small business products overview

    Coterie Insurance · Product line overview page listing Professional Liability among Coterie's coverages · accessed 2026-09-23

  3. 03
    Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) Policy Overview & Product Highlights for Agents and Brokers

    Coterie Insurance · Policy overview paragraph; Eligible Professions list; 'Currently unavailable in: DC, IL, MA, MT, ND, and VA'; Professional Liability Limits of Insurance table; Claims-Made Policy Form / Retroactive Date / Extended Reporting Period definitions; Mandatory Countrywide PL Policy Forms; Base Form Exclusions · accessed 2026-09-23

  4. 04
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk