Aon vs Baldwin: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

Both advise and broker rather than issue policies; Aon's practice is aimed at law, accounting and consulting firms, and The Baldwin Group lists accountants, architects, engineers, surveyors and financial advisers.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Aon and The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Coverage Structure and Evidence

Aon describes professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says its advisors tailor structures to firm needs. The Baldwin Group names accountants, architects, engineers, financial advisers, lawyers, consultants and surveyors among its professional-services clients, but its reviewed page does not define covered errors, insured services or claims-made conditions. A firm in one of those professions can ask Baldwin to identify the applicable policy form; Aon’s description offers a tailoring discussion without specifying the form either. [1] [5]

Buyer Fit and Placement

Both are broker/advisory routes rather than identified policy issuers, and neither reviewed record states a buyer-specific limit, deductible or exclusion schedule. Baldwin describes tailored insurance and risk-mitigation guidance, while Aon cites industry knowledge, data and tools for professional-services decisions. These service descriptions do not establish broader coverage. Ask each broker to show the insured services definition and compare limits, retroactive date, defense treatment and exclusions in the actual quote. [1] [5]

What Should You Confirm in Aon and The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Baldwin which professional services are insured and request the form, limit and retroactive date. [1] [5]
  • Ask Aon to identify the carrier and show how the proposed terms match your client contracts. [1] [5]

Aon says it tailors professional-liability structures for professional-services firms. The Baldwin Group serves accountants, architects, advisers, lawyers and other professionals but does not publish E&O triggers or limits.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Professional Services Practice

    Aon · Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  3. 03
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  4. 04
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Professional Liability Insurance & Services

    The Baldwin Group · Professional-services customer population lines 35–64; coverage snapshot lines 68–84 lists property, general/professional liability, cyber, workers’ compensation, D&O, fiduciary, crime/fidelity bond, EPL, and IP liability; Employee benefits lines 93–95; accessed 2026-09-29. · accessed 2026-09-30

  6. 06
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Areas of coverage

Aon

  • role: Aon presents Professional Liability / E&O as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Aon describes professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.not-foundSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

The Baldwin Group

  • role: The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Professional Liability and E&O. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Baldwin names accountants, architects, engineers, financial advisers, lawyers, management consultants and surveyors as professional-services clients. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Baldwin lists professional liability/E&O coverage for its professional-services practice. The page does not define the professional services insured, covered errors, claims-made conditions, limits or exclusions. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Baldwin describes tailored insurance and risk-mitigation solutions for professional firms and guidance on market shifts and business exposures. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources.not-disclosedSource ↗

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk