Alliance Risk vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway lists E&O inside its combined Business Owners Policy with an online quote; Alliance Risk instead brokers E&O through carrier partnerships for named professions.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Alliance Risk and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Broker Placement and Package Line

Alliance Risk places professional liability as a broker using carrier partnerships and risk-specific underwriting input. THREE lists Errors and Omissions within its combined Business Owners Policy. Professional firms can ask Alliance Risk which insurer and form match their services, while asking THREE whether its quote includes E&O for the specific work performed. [1] [2]

Professional Claims and Other Lines

Alliance Risk says E&O typically addresses negligent acts or omissions, breach of contract, misrepresentation and missed deadlines. It identifies bodily injury, property damage, intentional wrongdoing, employment disputes, cyber incidents and known claims as exclusions handled by other lines. THREE names E&O as a marketed package category but its reviewed material does not enumerate similar terms. Compare the professional-services definition and exclusions with client contract obligations. [1] [2]

Contract Review and Claims Support

Alliance Risk describes industry-specific risk reviews, contract review, customized wording and expertise structuring claims-made policies with prior acts, retroactive dates and tail coverage; it also names a legal network and claims experts. THREE provides an online quote and licensed advisor support but does not describe comparable E&O services in the reviewed record. Ask who can review a client contract and explain retroactive dates before binding. [1] [3]

What Should You Confirm in Alliance Risk and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Compare professional-services definitions, prior-acts dates, retroactive dates, tail options, defense costs and the claims-made reporting window. [1] [2]
  • Ask which client contracts and services are reviewed and identify the issuing insurer and any exclusions for cyber or bodily injury claims. [1] [4]

Areas of coverage

Alliance Risk

  • role: Alliance Risk places professional liability (errors and omissions, or E&O) coverage as a broker, saying it backs placements with risk-specific underwriting input and carrier partnerships rather than underwriting the policy itself. Professional liability product page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed professional liability page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it refers generally to 'strong carrier partnerships' without identifying a specific carrier. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23.not-disclosedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Alliance Risk targets professional liability at consultants and advisory firms, accountants and tax professionals, architects and engineers, real estate and insurance agents and brokers, marketing and PR agencies, IT and technology consultants, healthcare providers, and financial planners and investment advisors. Professional liability product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Alliance Risk lists negligent acts or omissions, breach of contract, misrepresentation, and missed deadlines as typically covered, and says bodily injury or property damage, intentional wrongdoing or fraud, employment disputes, cyber incidents, and prior known claims are excluded and belong to other lines such as general liability, EPLI or cyber liability. Professional liability product page; coverage and exclusions described in general terms, subject to the policy as issued.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed professional liability page gives cost ranges by firm size (for example, solo practitioners at $500-$3,000 a year up to mid-sized to large firms at $10,000-$50,000-plus) but does not publish specific coverage limits, retentions or deductible amounts for this line. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23; cost figures are illustrative premium estimates, not published limits.not-foundSource ↗
  • services: Alliance Risk describes its approach to professional liability as including industry-specific risk reviews, claims-trend analysis, customized policy language, review of client contracts to limit personal exposure, and expertise structuring claims-made policies including tail coverage, prior acts and retroactive dates. Professional liability product page, Our Approach to Professional Liability and The Alliance Risk Difference sections.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: The professional liability page's only application route is a generic 'Get a quote' request; it does not list the specific submission information Alliance Risk asks for on this line, unlike its D&O, EPLI and fiduciary product pages. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23.not-foundSource ↗
  • claims: Alliance Risk says professional liability clients get access to a legal network and claims experts who understand the client's industry, providing a defense strategy if a claim arises. Professional liability product page, The Alliance Risk Difference section.company-reportedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

Alliance Risk describes negligence, breach of contract and missed-deadline claims, plus industry-specific reviews and claims support. THREE lists E&O in its combined policy.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Professional Liability Insurance

    Alliance Risk · Professional Liability Insurance That Safeguards Your Expertise; Our Approach to Professional Liability; The Alliance Risk Difference; What Is Professional Liability Insurance?; What Does/Doesn't Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; How Much Professional Liability Insurance Cost? · accessed 2026-09-23

  2. 02
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  5. 05
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk