AIG vs Three: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway lists E&O inside its Business Owners Policy rather than as a separate policy, with an online quote; AIG markets customizable E&O for public and private service providers.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between AIG and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Standalone or Package Coverage

AIG describes a specialty entity policy for negligent professional services and third-party economic loss. THREE lists E&O as one component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying a separate standalone policy on the reviewed page. A buyer seeking packaged coverage should ask whether E&O appears in the actual THREE quote and what professional-services trigger applies; an AIG proposal should be compared on the same basis. [1] [2]

Issuer and Buying Route

AIG says its products are written by subsidiaries or affiliates, though the reviewed page does not name the buyer’s issuing entity. THREE directs small businesses to an online quote and licensed Small Business Advisors; its sample policy names Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. Verify the actual declarations for either quote and compare professional-liability limits separately from package limits. [1] [3]

What Should You Confirm in AIG and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask AIG which subsidiary will issue the policy and whether E&O is standalone or combined with other lines. [1]
  • Ask THREE whether E&O is included in your quote, what limit applies and which entity appears on the declarations. [2]

Areas of coverage

AIG

  • role: AIG markets customizable entity-based professional errors-and-omissions policies for public and private service providers. AIG is the marketing name; the page’s legal footer says products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates, without naming the issuer for a buyer’s policy. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page. The page describes the marketed product family, not the legal insurer on an individual quote or policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: AIG says its specialty professional-liability offering is for service providers and can be customized for a company’s professional services. Its examples include public and private service providers; this does not state that every profession or applicant qualifies. Company-described target customer and customization statement. The reviewed page does not provide a complete class appetite or state availability list.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: AIG describes coverage for claims alleging negligence in professional services rendered to others, including claims for third-party economic loss. This is a description of the product’s intended subject; covered claims, definitions, exclusions and conditions depend on the issued policy. AIG’s marketing description of specialty professional E&O; no policy form or endorsement was reviewed.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: AIG says it uses in-house claims professionals and third-party experts, collaborates with clients through the claims process, and uses claims data to help clients evaluate and mitigate loss. These are company-reported service descriptions, not a claim outcome guarantee. General professional-liability claims services described by AIG. The page does not state account-specific service standards or identify the administrator for a particular policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state standard limits, retentions or deductibles for this offering. Confirm the amounts and policy conditions in the quote and issued form. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer-specific quote or policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  • role: THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • insurer: The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗
  • eligibility: The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.not-disclosedSource ↗Source ↗

AIG describes entity E&O for professional negligence; THREE lists E&O inside a combined business-owners policy and provides an online package quote with advisor support.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Professional Liability Insurance

    AIG US · ‘AIG Professional Liability Solutions,’ lines 327–334; claims expertise lines 273–279; broker contact lines 385–389; general policy-language caveat in legal footer lines 485–489. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. · accessed 2026-09-30

  4. 04
    The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

    Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE · State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. · accessed 2026-09-30

  5. 05
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk