AIG vs The Hartford: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums by product, such as $62 for standalone miscellaneous professional liability; AIG markets customizable E&O for public and private service providers.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

AIG describes entity E&O for negligent professional services; The Hartford’s record explains covered professional-liability claims and provides pricing information for its target businesses.

What Are the Key Differences Between AIG and The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Coverage Description

AIG describes E&O for allegations that professional services were negligent, including third-party economic loss. The Hartford’s record describes its professional-liability coverage scope for its small-business audience. Buyers should compare both forms against a concrete client allegation and check whether the proposed policy covers defense costs, breach-of-contract claims and work already completed. [1] [5]

Pricing and Quote Terms

AIG’s offering can be customized to the services of a public or private provider, while the Hartford publishes pricing information for its target customers. Published pricing can help frame a budget but does not establish the premium for a particular risk. Ask both for like limits, deductibles and prior-acts terms after confirming that your services are eligible. [1] [5]

What Should You Confirm in AIG and The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask AIG for the quoted premium, limit, retention and covered-services wording. [1]
  • Ask The Hartford whether its published price assumptions match your profession, revenue and chosen limit. [5]

Areas of coverage

AIG

  • role: AIG markets customizable entity-based professional errors-and-omissions policies for public and private service providers. AIG is the marketing name; the page’s legal footer says products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates, without naming the issuer for a buyer’s policy. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page. The page describes the marketed product family, not the legal insurer on an individual quote or policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: AIG says its specialty professional-liability offering is for service providers and can be customized for a company’s professional services. Its examples include public and private service providers; this does not state that every profession or applicant qualifies. Company-described target customer and customization statement. The reviewed page does not provide a complete class appetite or state availability list.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: AIG describes coverage for claims alleging negligence in professional services rendered to others, including claims for third-party economic loss. This is a description of the product’s intended subject; covered claims, definitions, exclusions and conditions depend on the issued policy. AIG’s marketing description of specialty professional E&O; no policy form or endorsement was reviewed.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: AIG says it uses in-house claims professionals and third-party experts, collaborates with clients through the claims process, and uses claims data to help clients evaluate and mitigate loss. These are company-reported service descriptions, not a claim outcome guarantee. General professional-liability claims services described by AIG. The page does not state account-specific service standards or identify the administrator for a particular policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state standard limits, retentions or deductibles for this offering. Confirm the amounts and policy conditions in the quote and issued form. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer-specific quote or policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

The Hartford

  • role: The Hartford's professional liability insurance, also called errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, protects businesses when they make mistakes in the professional services provided to clients, including claims that turn out to be baseless. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The Hartford says the policy can cover claims of negligence, misrepresentation, inaccurate advice, personal injury (libel/slander) and copyright infringement, plus defense costs. Many of its professional liability policies are written on a claims-made basis with a retroactive date and an extended reporting period (typically 30-60 days, extendable to a year or more for an added cost), though some are written on an occurrence basis. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. General coverage and policy-form description; the issued policy controls.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: The Hartford targets professional liability at businesses that sign contracts requiring coverage, offer professional services directly to customers, or regularly give advice to clients, and lists industries it covers: accountants, consultants, interior designers, advertising agencies, graphic designers, technology professionals and healthcare professionals. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums by product: Misc. Professional Liability Standalone $62, Misc. Professional Liability Endorsement $41, Architects and Engineers Professional Liability $239, Healthcare Professionals Professional Liability $38, and Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies $146. The page does not publish standard coverage limits or retentions; cost and limits are set at quote. Company-reported pricing as of 2026-09-23 (page last updated by The Hartford May 4, 2026); premiums are not coverage limits.company-reportedSource ↗

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Professional Liability Insurance

    AIG US · ‘AIG Professional Liability Solutions,’ lines 327–334; claims expertise lines 273–279; broker contact lines 385–389; general policy-language caveat in legal footer lines 485–489. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  3. 03
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  4. 04
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Professional Liability Insurance Coverage

    The Hartford · What Is Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; What Does Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; How Much Does Professional Liability Insurance Cost?; How Does Professional Liability Insurance Work? (claims-made vs. occurrence) · accessed 2026-09-23

  6. 06
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk