AIG vs Techinsurance: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

TechInsurance targets E&O at IT, software and SaaS firms among others and reports a median of $88 a month for its policyholders; AIG markets customizable E&O to public and private service providers.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

Areas of coverage

AIG

  • role: AIG markets customizable entity-based professional errors-and-omissions policies for public and private service providers. AIG is the marketing name; the page’s legal footer says products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates, without naming the issuer for a buyer’s policy. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page. The page describes the marketed product family, not the legal insurer on an individual quote or policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: AIG says its specialty professional-liability offering is for service providers and can be customized for a company’s professional services. Its examples include public and private service providers; this does not state that every profession or applicant qualifies. Company-described target customer and customization statement. The reviewed page does not provide a complete class appetite or state availability list.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: AIG describes coverage for claims alleging negligence in professional services rendered to others, including claims for third-party economic loss. This is a description of the product’s intended subject; covered claims, definitions, exclusions and conditions depend on the issued policy. AIG’s marketing description of specialty professional E&O; no policy form or endorsement was reviewed.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: AIG says it uses in-house claims professionals and third-party experts, collaborates with clients through the claims process, and uses claims data to help clients evaluate and mitigate loss. These are company-reported service descriptions, not a claim outcome guarantee. General professional-liability claims services described by AIG. The page does not state account-specific service standards or identify the administrator for a particular policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state standard limits, retentions or deductibles for this offering. Confirm the amounts and policy conditions in the quote and issued form. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer-specific quote or policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

TechInsurance

  • role: TechInsurance arranges errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, as a standalone policy for businesses that provide professional services or advice. Errors and omissions product page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for an E&O policy. Errors and omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23.not-disclosedSource ↗
  • coverage: TechInsurance says E&O insurance covers professional negligence claims, errors or incomplete work, breach of contract, missed deadlines, misrepresentation of skill level, and communication-related disputes, and pays legal defense costs and any resulting judgment or settlement. Errors and omissions product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: TechInsurance says its E&O policies are claims-made, meaning coverage applies only if the policy was active both when the incident occurred and when the claim was filed, and recommends keeping the policy active or setting a retroactive date to cover past work. Errors and omissions product page, Why is it important to keep your E&O insurance policy active? section.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: TechInsurance says its E&O policyholders pay a median of $88 per month, or $1,051 a year, with the exact premium depending on location, profession risk level, coverage limits, deductible, employee count, claims history and annual income. Errors and omissions product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: TechInsurance targets E&O at businesses that provide professional services or advice, naming IT and software professionals, cybersecurity and SaaS companies, insurance agents, real estate agents, tax preparers and consultants as example segments, and notes it is sometimes required by state law or licensing boards. Errors and omissions product page, Who should get errors and omissions insurance coverage? section.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: TechInsurance says that if a client threatens to sue, you contact your carrier directly, provide policy information and explain the circumstances, and the insurer's representative helps determine next steps. Errors and omissions product page, How does E&O insurance coverage work? section.company-reportedSource ↗

What Are the Key Differences Between AIG and TechInsurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Claims-Made Timing

AIG’s reviewed record describes coverage for negligence in professional services but does not specify the policy trigger. TechInsurance says its E&O policies are claims-made, so coverage depends on the policy being active when both the incident and claim occur, and notes the role of maintaining coverage or setting a retroactive date. Buyers should compare the trigger, prior-acts date and extended reporting option in both quotes. [1] [4]

Who Handles the Claim

AIG describes in-house claims professionals and third-party experts collaborating through the process. TechInsurance says the insured contacts the carrier directly when a client threatens suit, and an insurer representative explains next steps. This is a clear difference in documented instructions: confirm whether AIG’s support is assigned to the policyholder and save the direct carrier notice details for a TechInsurance placement. [1] [4]

What Should You Confirm in AIG and TechInsurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask AIG for its trigger, retroactive date, reporting deadlines and tail options. [1]
  • Ask TechInsurance for the named carrier and direct notice instructions, and confirm whether defense costs reduce limits. [4]

AIG describes E&O for negligent professional services; TechInsurance publishes claims-made terms, claims handling instructions and profession examples for its brokered product.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Professional Liability Insurance

    AIG US · ‘AIG Professional Liability Solutions,’ lines 327–334; claims expertise lines 273–279; broker contact lines 385–389; general policy-language caveat in legal footer lines 485–489. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  3. 03
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  4. 04
    Errors & Omissions (E&O) Insurance

    TechInsurance · What does errors and omissions insurance cover? (professional negligence, errors or incomplete work, breach of contract, missed deadlines, misrepresentation, communication challenges); How much does E&O insurance cost?; Who should get errors and omissions insurance coverage?; How does E&O insurance coverage work? (claims-made) · accessed 2026-09-23

  5. 05
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk