AIG vs Alliance Risk: Professional Liability / E&O Insurance

AIG markets customizable E&O policies for public and private service providers, while Alliance Risk is a broker that places E&O through carrier partners for consultants, accountants, architects and agents.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

AIG describes entity E&O for negligent professional services; Alliance Risk targets named professions and offers industry-specific reviews, contract feedback and claims expertise.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Professional Liability Insurance

    AIG US · ‘AIG Professional Liability Solutions,’ lines 327–334; claims expertise lines 273–279; broker contact lines 385–389; general policy-language caveat in legal footer lines 485–489. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Professional Liability Insurance

    Alliance Risk · Professional Liability Insurance That Safeguards Your Expertise; Our Approach to Professional Liability; The Alliance Risk Difference; What Is Professional Liability Insurance?; What Does/Doesn't Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; How Much Professional Liability Insurance Cost? · accessed 2026-09-23

  3. 03
    Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance

    Hiscox Inc. specimen · About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act · accessed 2026-09-16

  4. 04
    Professional liability insurance

    Insurance Information Institute · Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion) · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    FAQ: Professional liability insurance

    Texas Department of Insurance · What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Get business insurance

    U.S. Small Business Administration · Six common types of business insurance table · accessed 2026-09-16

What Are the Key Differences Between AIG and Alliance Risk Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Professional Services and Buyer Fit

AIG says its specialty E&O covers claims alleging negligence in professional services, including third-party economic loss, and can be customized for a company’s work. Alliance Risk names target classes including consultants, accountants, architects, technology advisers, healthcare providers and financial planners; its typical covered allegations include negligent acts, breach of contract, misrepresentation and missed deadlines. A firm should compare its actual services and client contracts with those classes and the proposed policy definitions. [1] [2]

Wording and Claims Support

Alliance Risk describes industry-specific risk reviews, claims-trend analysis, customized policy language and contract review, and says its clients can access legal and claims experts familiar with their industry. AIG describes in-house claims professionals and third-party experts who work with clients through a claim, but its reviewed page does not describe the same contract-review service. Buyers choosing between them should ask whether contract feedback is part of the placement and who will advise when a claim arrives. [2] [1]

What Should You Confirm in AIG and Alliance Risk Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask AIG for the exact services definition, exclusions and claims-made reporting requirements in the proposed form. [1]
  • Ask Alliance Risk whether its contract review covers your client agreements and what insurer, tail, prior-acts date and limits it can place. [2]

Areas of coverage

AIG

  • role: AIG markets customizable entity-based professional errors-and-omissions policies for public and private service providers. AIG is the marketing name; the page’s legal footer says products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates, without naming the issuer for a buyer’s policy. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page. The page describes the marketed product family, not the legal insurer on an individual quote or policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: AIG says its specialty professional-liability offering is for service providers and can be customized for a company’s professional services. Its examples include public and private service providers; this does not state that every profession or applicant qualifies. Company-described target customer and customization statement. The reviewed page does not provide a complete class appetite or state availability list.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: AIG describes coverage for claims alleging negligence in professional services rendered to others, including claims for third-party economic loss. This is a description of the product’s intended subject; covered claims, definitions, exclusions and conditions depend on the issued policy. AIG’s marketing description of specialty professional E&O; no policy form or endorsement was reviewed.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: AIG says it uses in-house claims professionals and third-party experts, collaborates with clients through the claims process, and uses claims data to help clients evaluate and mitigate loss. These are company-reported service descriptions, not a claim outcome guarantee. General professional-liability claims services described by AIG. The page does not state account-specific service standards or identify the administrator for a particular policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state standard limits, retentions or deductibles for this offering. Confirm the amounts and policy conditions in the quote and issued form. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer-specific quote or policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

Alliance Risk

  • role: Alliance Risk places professional liability (errors and omissions, or E&O) coverage as a broker, saying it backs placements with risk-specific underwriting input and carrier partnerships rather than underwriting the policy itself. Professional liability product page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed professional liability page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it refers generally to 'strong carrier partnerships' without identifying a specific carrier. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23.not-disclosedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Alliance Risk targets professional liability at consultants and advisory firms, accountants and tax professionals, architects and engineers, real estate and insurance agents and brokers, marketing and PR agencies, IT and technology consultants, healthcare providers, and financial planners and investment advisors. Professional liability product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Alliance Risk lists negligent acts or omissions, breach of contract, misrepresentation, and missed deadlines as typically covered, and says bodily injury or property damage, intentional wrongdoing or fraud, employment disputes, cyber incidents, and prior known claims are excluded and belong to other lines such as general liability, EPLI or cyber liability. Professional liability product page; coverage and exclusions described in general terms, subject to the policy as issued.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed professional liability page gives cost ranges by firm size (for example, solo practitioners at $500-$3,000 a year up to mid-sized to large firms at $10,000-$50,000-plus) but does not publish specific coverage limits, retentions or deductible amounts for this line. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23; cost figures are illustrative premium estimates, not published limits.not-foundSource ↗
  • services: Alliance Risk describes its approach to professional liability as including industry-specific risk reviews, claims-trend analysis, customized policy language, review of client contracts to limit personal exposure, and expertise structuring claims-made policies including tail coverage, prior acts and retroactive dates. Professional liability product page, Our Approach to Professional Liability and The Alliance Risk Difference sections.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: The professional liability page's only application route is a generic 'Get a quote' request; it does not list the specific submission information Alliance Risk asks for on this line, unlike its D&O, EPLI and fiduciary product pages. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23.not-foundSource ↗
  • claims: Alliance Risk says professional liability clients get access to a legal network and claims experts who understand the client's industry, providing a defense strategy if a claim arises. Professional liability product page, The Alliance Risk Difference section.company-reportedSource ↗

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk