Baldwin vs Risklytics: Intellectual Property Insurance

Risklytics offers an online application, no broker fee on top of the premium and a typical ask of $250,000 to $5 million per claim for IP cover; The Baldwin Group names professional-services clients and lists IP liability without defining terms.

Kearny Risk organizes these comparisons for firms whose advice, content or technology creates professional exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

Areas of coverage

The Baldwin Group

  • role: The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Intellectual Property Liability. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Baldwin names accountants, architects, engineers, financial advisers, lawyers, consultants and surveyors as professional-services clients whose risks may need tailored insurance guidance. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Baldwin lists intellectual-property liability as one of the coverage options in its professional-services coverage snapshot. It does not define covered intellectual-property claims, triggers, limits or exclusions. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Baldwin describes professional-services risk mitigation and insurance solutions tailored to clients’ people, operations and goals. The page does not identify the insurer or legal form for an IP placement. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources.not-disclosedSource ↗

Risklytics

  • role: Risklytics Insurance Services is a licensed insurance producer (NPN 22311838) that places Risklytics Intellectual Property Insurance with outside carriers; it says it does not underwrite policies itself. About page; describes Risklytics' brokerage model generally, restated for this line.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Risklytics describes this line as paying legal costs on both sides of an IP dispute: defending a claim that the company's product infringes someone else's patent, trademark or copyright, and pursuing an infringer of its own IP, and distinguishes it from cyber liability, which would answer source code stolen in a breach rather than an infringement claim. Lines page; the issued policy and declarations control actual coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Risklytics says buyers typically need this coverage at their first filed patent or the first contract requiring them to cover a customer's IP claims, and that enterprise contracts with an IP indemnity clause require it; it adds that companies without patents can still need the line because trademarks, copyrighted code and trade secrets count too. Lines page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: Risklytics lists a typical ask of $250,000 to $5 million per claim for this line. Lines page; actual limits are set on the bound policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Risklytics says only a short list of insurers write this line and that they require every patent filing and indemnity obligation to be listed before placement. Lines page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: Risklytics does not name the carrier that underwrites Risklytics Intellectual Property Insurance on its site. It says it places business with specialist insurers willing to write robotics, autonomy and AI risk; the issuing carrier appears on the bound policy. Lines page and about page; no specific insurer is published for this line.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗
  • application: You start Risklytics Intellectual Property Insurance through Risklytics' online application. Risklytics says there is no broker fee on top of the premium and a licensed producer stays on the file until the program binds; its commission is paid by the carrier out of the premium either way. Pricing page describes the general application and fee process, not a line-specific form.company-reportedSource ↗Source ↗

What Are the Key Differences Between The Baldwin Group and Risklytics Intellectual Property Insurance?

The Buyers Each Describe

Risklytics ties GL to a robotics company’s first lease, customer contract or on-site visit, with landlords and site owners often requiring it before access. The Baldwin Group names professional-services firms and government contractors as audiences for GL options. Those examples point to different purchase triggers; a robotics hardware business should ask Baldwin which team handles its exposures and ask Risklytics whether its described appetite fits the operation. [8] [7]

How the Other Record Changes the Comparison

Risklytics gives a typical requested limit of $1 million per incident and $2 million per year, explicitly as a market ask rather than a guaranteed policy limit. Baldwin does not state a buyer-specific limit or schedule. Treat Risklytics’ figures as a starting requirement and obtain Baldwin’s proposed limits alongside the bound policy terms. [8] [6] [5]

What Should You Confirm in The Baldwin Group and Risklytics Intellectual Property Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Risklytics whether the $1 million/$2 million request matches your lease or customer contract and which carrier would issue it. Ask Baldwin to quote per-occurrence and aggregate limits, retention and exclusions for your operations. [8]
  • Confirm the quoted policy’s applicable terms, issuing carrier and any coverage-specific limits or exclusions before binding. [7]

Risklytics ties GL to a robotics company’s first lease, customer contract or on-site visit, with landlords and site owners often requiring it before access. The Baldwin Group names professional-services firms and government contractors as audiences for GL options.

Sources reviewed

  1. 01
    Intellectual property insurance

    CFC · Opening; Defense; Pursuit of infringers; Contractual indemnity; US-facing product offering · accessed 2026-09-16

  2. 02
    Intellectual Property Insurance application form — US

    CFC Underwriting Limited · Sections 1–2 pp.1–2; Section 3 pp.3–4; Section 4 p.4; Section 6.1 p.5; Section 6.2 p.6 · accessed 2026-09-16

  3. 03
    IP Infringement Insurance Application

    Intellectual Property Insurance Services Corporation · p.1 specimen request; Section 1 pp.2–4; Defense Section 2 pp.5–6; Enforcement Section 3 pp.7–9 · accessed 2026-09-16

  4. 04
    Small Business Insurance

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · Other types of business liability insurance · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    About Risklytics: who we are

    Risklytics · “What we do”; Licensing: Risklytics Insurance Services, National Producer Number 22311838, resident license Massachusetts · accessed 2026-09-23

  6. 06
    How pricing and broker fees work

    Risklytics · Buying direct / Generic broker / Risklytics comparison table: no broker fee, commission paid by the carrier out of premium · accessed 2026-09-23

  7. 07
    Intellectual Property Insurance

    Risklytics · Coverage line: Intellectual Property; Built for moments like these; When to buy; Who requires it; How hard to get; Common questions · accessed 2026-09-23

  8. 08
    Professional Liability Insurance & Services

    The Baldwin Group · Professional-services customer population lines 35–64; coverage snapshot lines 68–84 lists property, general/professional liability, cyber, workers’ compensation, D&O, fiduciary, crime/fidelity bond, EPL, and IP liability; Employee benefits lines 93–95; accessed 2026-09-29. · accessed 2026-09-30

  9. 09
    Intellectual property insurance (UK guidance)

    UK Intellectual Property Office · About IP and insurance > types of products; exclusions/excess/co-insurance; claims process and legal representation · accessed 2026-09-16

Ask Kearny Risk to help relate this comparison to your services and contracts.

Contact Kearny Risk